[LotRO] Insect Slaying

It’s been a while since I played LotRO. So, Scorbo, my Hobbit Burglar, has been sitting on level 19 for quite sometime now. Doing low-level quests in Staddle doesn’t help either. But, like I said before, I’m going to play this game slowly and milk every free content to the drop, not wasting any XP.

Scorbo, hunting for insects.

Another reason why Scorbo is stuck in this low-level area is that I’m also doing some Slayer Deeds. There are three deeds to be done in Midgewater Marsh: Spiders, Neekerbreekers and Sickle Flies. So, I’ve been camping there for a while, trying to kill 90 of each insect. I know a lot of people don’t like slayer deeds, and I could see why. Slayer deeds are just tedious. But, sometimes, they can be meditative.

Killing low-level mobs requires no strategy. It becomes a mindless hack n’ slash game, and that’s fine by me. Because I do a lot of heavy thinking while playing an easy game. I used to recall what I’ve learned in school while playing Diablo II. When I was studying for my Nuc. Med. boards, I’d fire up Sacred at the end of the day and try to remember all the things I’ve studied while playing the game. This is why I love gaming. It calms me. It frees me of worry.

Anyways, I’m almost done with with my slayer deeds. I could’ve finished them this weekend. But some games I bought from the Steam Summer Sale (Space Marine and Alan Wake) are keeping me occupied. In addition, my shenanigans at Saturday’s Pitchfork Music Festival (my recap and photos of the fest) left me drained to do anything yesterday. Hopefully, I’d be able to do and finish the deeds today.

Leave a Reply

