How Many Games Do You Buy In A Year?

With game prices starting at $60, I’m pretty sure I’m not the only one limiting the number of games purchased per year.

Back before I lost my job in 2010, I had a $600 budget on games in a year. I can afford 12 newly released games at that time, and I still go over it. Now, I only try to spend $250. It can buy me 4 games. But I limit myself on buying 3 new games only. The rest of the money is used to get cheap indie games, downloadable contents, and older games that are on sale.

The Prothean Device on Mars, from Mass Effect 3.

This year, with all the games that I want are already out or pre-purchased, I’m almost at my limit:

  1. Mass Effect 3 – $60
  2. Guild Wars 2 – $60
  3. Diablo III – $60
  4. Legend of Grimrock – $15
  5. The Lord of the Rings Online: Mithril Edition – $15

Now, I only have $40 left. That’s gonna be saved until December, when Steam pull out their holiday sale. But I think I should be fine. I’m pretty sure I’ll be too pre-occupied with Guild Wars 2, Diablo III, my photography and school for the rest of the year.

So, how about you? Do you limit the number of games you buy in a year?

7 comments

  1. clumsygrrrl · · Reply

    I actually rarely buy games. WoW is the only game I play regularly — the last console game I purchased was for the Playstation 2! (I know … šŸ˜¦ )

    That said, I AM planning on buying Guild Wars 2 when it is released!

    1. Wow, you’re better than I am. If you play WoW. How much do you spend on gaming each year? Around $160?

      But Guild Wars 2 will be my salvation. I don’t think I’ll get bored with the game. It’s PvP and PvE content will satisfy me for months, maybe even years. Then there’s no monthly fee.

      1. clumsygrrrl · ·

        Aha yes, I spend about 160 on gaming a year. I started WoW because most of my nine brothers played – it seemed like a fairly logical idea that I’d enjoy it too.

        Turns out, I liked it more than they did! Only two of us still play. I’ve never played on the same server as any of my brothers, though.

        The lack of monthly fee is one of the reasons I’m interested in picking up GW2. That, and most of my guildies seem to be dropping WoW for it … I will be rather lonely once it drops.

  2. I’m in the same boat. Been borrowing games from my buddies due to having to pay WoW subscription fees! I still haven’t got my hands on ME3 yet šŸ˜¦

    1. Lucky you. I don’t have gamer friends. So, I can’t borrow games.

  3. I buy very few games anymore, a lot of the new stuff coming out just doesn’t interest me. Since I’m mostly a MMO-player, generally I can find a decent F2P nowadays that’s entertaining enough so I spend even less money on games lately. I think I’m pretty much over monthly fee MMOs in general. GW2 can’t come out soon enough!

    1. I’m trying to stick with F2Ps as well. Right now, I’m liking LOTRO a lot. So, I’m going to stick with it for a bit before I try out another F2P. And I couldn’t agree with you more on GW2. I want it now!

Leave a Reply

