[GW2] Launch Preparations #2: Races, Professions, Builds

Like many others, who will be playing Guild Wars 2 this weekend, I also had a hard time deciding on my main character. Questions like “Which race to pick?” and “What profession should I start with?” had assailed my mind these past few days. Should I go with a Human Thief, whom I really enjoyed playing during the 2nd beta weekend? Or should I just surprise myself and go with a Sylvari Mesmer? Decisions, decisions.

As I have mentioned in my previous post, I didn’t pay any attention to anything Guild Wars 2 right after the 2nd Beta Weekend Event. So, I did some research and dug a bit deeper into GW2’s profession. I found a great amount of information in Team Legacy’s video library, and most of which were useful. Combined what little knowledge I gleamed from that video library with my guild’s plans on WvW and my play style, I finally had an inkling for a character.

A Charr Engineer.

DPS has always been my game, (although everyone in Guild Wars 2 are one). Range with some AoE, specifically. That way, in WvW, I can just stay up on the ramparts of a keep and blast those invaders below. Also, since I’d rather roam around in a small group, kill some Dolyaks and pillage supply camps, I want enough power to wipe out a zerg (or at least do a lot of damage on them) if we encounter one. An Engineer seems capable to do all those things I just mentioned.

So, a Charr Engineer (although an Asura Engineer would be cute too), I will be on launch. I will be that grenadier on top of the ramparts, blasting you to oblivion, or that suicide bomber running into the middle of your group. This will be so much fun.

3 comments

  1. Best combination of race and profession ever. And I am not saying that just because I intent to play one too. No, sir! I am not biased at all. *coughs* >_>

  2. Yeah, I have Charr Engineer on my list as well. Hard part is figuring out what character I want to focus on first…

    1. I want to have more characters too. But, have a full time job and being a full time student, I can only have one.

Leave a Reply

