SWTOR, Going F2P

Screenshot by Ravalation

With a steady decline of subscriptions, server merges and layoffs at BioWare Austin, I knew that Star Wars: The Old Republic will eventually embrace the Light Side MMO model. By that, I meant, someday, the game will go free-to-play. I was right!

Here’s a snippet of the press release from BioWare:

BioWare™, a Label of Electronic Arts (NASDAQ: EA), announced today that it will be expanding the story-driven, massively multiplayer online game Star Wars™: The Old Republic™ by adding a new Free-to-Play option this fall. This option will give players access to each of the eight iconic Star Wars character class storylines, all the way up to level 50, with certain restrictions*. Unlimited game access, including new higher-level game content and new features will be made available through individual purchases or through a subscription option. —Official SWTOR Site

Well, that was quick. The game hasn’t been out for a year. Yet, here it is. SWTOR, a F2P MMO. I was really surprised by this move.

Furthermore:

As the first step towards adding the new Free-to-Play option this fall, in August at retail Star Wars: The Old Republic will go on sale for $14.99 USD, including one-month of free subscription.

The cheapskate gamer in me is doing the “Running Man” dance move because of this news.

10 comments

  1. I wonder if they will continue to add to the personal storylines or release paid expansion packs for them. Since they were supposed to be the core feature of the game.

    1. I haven’t played the game. But, from the SWTOR blogs that I follow, a lot of them stopped playing after they finished their storylines. So, for their sake, I do hope they add more personal storylines.

  2. Oh wow, that’s very surprising! Although maybe not so much so after much that I heard about their customer service…

    But interesting still. Great news!

    1. I was expecting SWTOR to cave in and eventually use the F2P Model. I was just so surprised it happened this quick.

  3. I’m looking forward to this conversion as well – it is always welcome to have more great titles to choose from in the F2P world!

    1. I just hope the conversion isn’t too harsh. It’d be great if it’s anything like LotRO.

      1. That’s exactly how they’re modeling the system. LOTRO is a good template to use.

  4. Hmm, I’m actually dreading if it’s going to be anything like LotRO. All the TP advertising makes me enjoy that game a lot less.

  5. […] “The cheapskate gamer in me is doing the “Running Man” dance move because of this news.” ~ The Frugal Gamer […]

  6. 00james · · Reply

    I want my $200 back…

Leave a Reply

