F2P Journey: Lost My Wings and Fell to Earth

Aion did an Icarus on me, in which it flew up only to crash down hard on the ground. I haven’t logged in the game for weeks now, ever since The Lord of the Rings Online and Diablo III grabbed my attention. The enthusiasm that I had for the game when I installed it is now gone. So, I left Aion and have moved on to the next F2P on my list: Fallen Earth.

Wasteland Punk!

I always wanted to play Fallen Earth since its release back in 2009. However, at that time, I was already playing three other MMOs (Warhammer Online, Champions Online and Aion). So, I didn’t have the luxury of time and money to play another game. On hindsight, I wish I dropped Aion and picked this game instead. After all, I’m much more into post-apocalyptic and dystopian settings than fantasy. But now that it’s free-to-play, I’m dipping my hands into the game.

The first time I logged in to Fallen Earth, my heart jumped. Just because I was queued. Thankfully, that merely lasted for seconds. Before I know it, I was already creating my character. I’m glad that there are plenty of options on customizing your character in this game. So, I was able to make my toon look a bit like Wez (the protagonist in Road Warrior, the one with the red mohawk).

The game was a little bit hard for me, at first. The HUD just looked so crowded to me. But I was able to clean it up after minimizing and removing some of the items on my screen. The controls is a bit clunky too. It’s just annoying that I have to press the TAB button to switch between aiming and interacting with my inventory. The default hotkeys for weapons is also a pain. I’m pretty sure, however, that these can be fixed easily. So, I’ll look in to these the next time I log in.

Dual wielding pistols is the best.

But, overall, I’m in love with the game. I particularly like its rusty and dusty atmosphere. There are no beautiful scenery or magical places in here, just dilapidation and punk architecture.  It’s a stark contrast to games like WoW and LotRO. Plus, you can also dual wield pistols in Fallen Earth. Any game that let’s you dual-wield pistols is a definite win for me.

4 comments

  1. I just recently tried Fallen Earth myself, having been interested in trying it for a long time. Glad to see others are interested as well!

    1. It’s a really, really great game. I wish I had tried it sooner.

  2. No beautiful places in Fallen Earth? This game has the best sunsets of all ! http://www.mmocompendium.com/cool-places-fallen-earth/
    And have a look at my other Fallen Earth articles as well. Enjoy.
    Did I mention it has a very newbie friendly chat as well?

    1. Where are those places? So, I can avoid them. 😛

Leave a Reply

