F2P Journey: Sprouting Wings in Aion

I’ve decided to go back to school this year. I know, I’ve said that before. But, this time, I’m certain. So, while I’ve always been a cheapskate, I’m doubling my efforts to save even more money. One of the steps I’ve taken –besides sacrificing my comic books– is to play free MMORPGs. Unfortunately, since I really don’t know what’s good out there, I’m going to painstakingly try every single F2p MMO until I find a home for myself.

In this post, I’m giving Aion a spin.

Ioreleth, my Elyos Scout.

I’ve played Aion before, back in 2009. In fact, it is my first MMO launch. With my new found love for MMOs, I wanted to try playing something else besides WAR. So, me and a handful of my guildmates decided to give Aion a spin. Unfortunately, the PvP zone wasn’t available until you’re level 25. Since we’re PvP players that came from WAR, my guildies got bored by the PvE grind and left the game. I was one of the last people to stay. But when I finally reached the PvP zone, I had no more guild support. So, I left too. But now that Aion has gone F2P, and I now have the stomach for PvE, I’ve decided to give it another shot.

It took me sometime to download and patch the game. But once I was done with all that, I rolled an Elyos Scout on Siel server. I went with a female character because Elyos women are pleasing to look at. Beautifying her wasn’t easy though. Aion offered me plenty of options (there’s like 30+ hairstyles) to customize the look of my character. So, I was stuck in the creation screen for a bit (almost an hour), trying to pick out the right hair style, hair color, eye color, and deciding her vital statistics (which is vital).

Getting into the game wasn’t as hard as I thought it’s going to be. Oddly enough, even though it’s been 3 years since I’ve played this game, I still remember a lot about it –its hotkeys, how the chain attack works, and even some of the quests. So, I was able to breeze through the starting area. I also found myself enjoying the game more than I did the first time. I didn’t find the PvE that boring, and I was able to push my character to level 8 (in just an hour and a half) before I logged out.

Unfortunately, since this is a free-to-play game, I’m sure something will bar my way and prevent me from enjoying this game further. But, until that time comes, I’m just going to keep on playing Aion. I’ll see where this game will take me, if it’ll be my new MMO home.

Leave a Reply

