Dirt Cheap Games #1

Playing a good game always satisfies me. But what satisfies me even more is playing a good game that I paid for a fraction of its original price. That’s why I’m always on the look out for bargains. So, in this series of posts, which I’ll call Dirt Cheap Games, I’ll share some of my bargain finds to help out fellow cheapskates like me.

In this post, the games on Steam’s Midweek Madness and Daily DealPortal 2, Alan Wake and Anomaly: Warzone Earth.

Portal 2 is definitely the steal here. For less than $7, you get to play a fun game that’s been hailed by a lot of critics as the “Best Game of 2012”. I want to get it myself. But, unfortunately, I can’t afford a game even this cheap.

Destroying defensive towers in Anomaly.

If you can’t afford anything over $5 (like me), then, for less than $4, Anomaly: Warzone Earth is for you. It’s much like a tower defense game, except you’re on the offense and the one who gets to blow up towers. You command a convoy of tanks, decide which route they’ll take to avoid defense towers, repair them, and lay out some defenses for them –such as smoke screens and decoys. It’s pretty fun and, not to mention, cheap. Get this.

 Lastly, Alan Wake. Honestly, I don’t know anything about it. There was a point in time that I was following this game’s development, back when I was hungry for adventure games. But I just lost interest in it. From what I hear though, through word of mouth and the interwebs, this game should be good. I just don’t know if it’s worth $15 though.

So, that’s it for the first edition of Dirt Cheap Games. Like I said, Portal 2 is the steal here. So, go grab it while you can. If you don’t have $5, I’m pretty sure Anomaly will sate your gaming needs.

Leave a Reply

