My MMO Timeline

As I’ve mentioned on my first entry (which you probably didn’t read), I’m pretty new to MMORPGs. I started playing my first MMO back in 2007, and then only played a couple since then.

But, anyways, here’s my MMO timeline.

1. Lord of the Rings Online (April – July 2007)
My first MMORPG. I didn’t know anything about MMOs back then. I wasn’t even interested in them. Not yet, at least. But I was a new grad, with a new job, who can now afford a fast internet connection. So, the first thing I did with my new connection was try out an online game, and LOTRO was hot at that time.

I didn’t know what I was doing though. I didn’t know how to play the game and I didn’t know the lingo. I was treating it as a hack n’ slash RPG, like Diablo II. I kept aggroing (didn’t even know what aggro was at that time) multiple mobs and kept dying. But, my god, I fell in love with the game.

Unfortunately, I still didn’t know how to play the game after three months. So, I got burned out and left the game.

2. World of Warcraft (January – January 2008)
I was always interested in playing World of Warcraft. But my poor internet connection didn’t allow it. So, when I finally had a better connection. I thought I’d check it out. I played the trial for two weeks, and liked the game enough to pay for a monthly subscription. But after I subbed, the game reared its ugly head at me (players). So, I stopped playing the game.

3. Warhammer Online: Age of Reckoning (April 2009 – August 2010)
After my debacle with WoW, I stayed away from MMOs. But, after playing the real-time strategy game, Dawn of War II, I got hungry for Warhammer games. So, I decided to try Warhammer Online, took a wrong turn into its PvP lakes, and there I discovered that I like player vs. player.

WAR became my staple MMO for more than a year. I played it on and off, of course. But I usually kept coming back to it because I just enjoy the fights. Plus, I also enjoyed the company of my guild, which is The Gaiscioch Family –the first guild that I’ve joined, and possibly the last one as well.

4. Aion (September – October 2009)
With my new found love for PvP and MMOs, I wanted to try other games as well. Aion provided me with the oppurtunity. Unfortunately, the game didn’t meet my expectations and with the lack of support from my guild, I ended up quitting the game.

5. Champions Online (September 2009 – Forever)
Like with Aion, I played Champions Online because I wanted to try other MMOs. Since I also love comic books, Champions appealed a lot to me. Plus, my girlfriend at that time also got me a lifetime subscription (which she regretted). But I found its PvP lacking. So, I came crawling back to WAR.

6. Guild Wars (March 2010 – Until Guild Wars 2 comes out)
Guild Wars was a gift from a friend. I actually didn’t like the game, at first. Especially its combat. But, at that time, I lost my  job when the company I worked for filed for bankruptcy. So, I couldn’t pay in order to play WAR. I settled for Guild Wars and it grew on me. The game actually kept me entertained and sane during my three months of unemployment.

7. RIFT: Planes of Telara (March – July 2011)
By the time I played RIFT, I knew a bit about MMOs now. But, while I was a competent PvP player, I wasn’t really a good PvE player. Especially when it came down to end game contents such as Expert Dungeons. But, I tried it and ended up liking it.

RIFT is also the first MMO where I started raiding. I didn’t know anything about raiding prior to RIFT. So, I didn’t know what to expect –which involved a lot of dying and rage quitting. But I had a patient crew, and for weeks we worked on Greenscale’s Blight. Unfortunately, I wasn’t there when they took down the final dungeon boss. But I’m still proud to be a part of the first crew who was able to kill Lord Greenscale on Faeblight.

Lastly, I was also lucky enough to be picked as an alpha tester for the game. While I haven’t really had any contributions that made the game better, I was just happy that I was able to play this awesome game while the rest are suffering from RIFTdrawal.

While I liked RIFT, enough to be branded as my “Favorite MMO of all time”, it didn’t stand a chance when I met a pretty girl. I just had to quit.

So these are the MMOs that are under my belt. Like I said, I’m pretty new to this arena. I haven’t played those older ones like Everquest or Ultimate Online. So, my list isn’t that extensive. Although, I’m planning to give some of these games a second look. Right now, I want to get my hands wet with Aion and LOTRO.

Leave a Reply

