The Guy Behind The Gamer

I missed Ambermist’s last month’s challenge. Not that I didn’t have a story to tell. I just couldn’t pick which story to tell.

In this month’s challenge, in which we’re to give a detail about ourselves, I’ve also hit the same conundrum. Because there are a lot of things that I want to say. But, sinceĀ I’m too lazy to write a long post I don’t want to bore the readers of this blog with my personal life or why I’m frugal. So, I’ll just focus on my hobbies instead. With pictures too!

My little corner.

Gaming, of course, is one of my many hobbies. Although, unlike before, I don’t game as much as I do. In fact, I’m trying to get rid of it for years now. But, out of all of my hobbies, gaming is what calms me.

My Panasonic DMC-LX5.

Photography is what I love doing on my free time. I bought my camera a year ago, on impulse. Because I fell in love with a girl and, for some reason, I felt doing something productive, something creative (more of that story here). I own two cameras: A Canon T3 with a 50mm f/1.4 lens and a Sigma 50-200mm f/4-5.6 lens; and a Panasonic DMC-LX5, which I use whenever I can’t take my DSLR with me (like in concerts or music fests).

Stavros and Dave Kush of The Atlas Moth. Taken at Pitchfork Music Festival 2012

Concert Photography is what I want to do. I’d even do it for free. Right now, I only have adequate skills and equipment. So, it might take sometime before I could actually be on the press pit, shooting for big shot publication or website. But I’m already starting to build a network.

Picks on notes.

Music is also a big part of my life. I mostly listen to metal, rock, blues, jazz and a lot of indie. I used to play in a band too, and we’re even locally famous. Now, I’m just a bedroom musician. I own two guitars: A Schecter Damien Special and an Epiphone Les Paul. I plug both guitars to a 35-watt Spider III, Line 6 amp.

Old issue hunters at the Chicago Comics Convention and Entertainment Expo (C2E2)

I’m also a comic book nerd. I used to spend more than $100 on comics each month. Now, with money being tight, I only spend less than $20. The titles that I read, with the exception of Batman and Uncanny X-Force, are also non-superhero (e.g. Fables, The Walking Dead and American Vampire).

So, that’s pretty much me. Admit it, I’m cool.

9 comments

  1. Those are some pretty good pictures. Here is hoping you can make your dream come true and turn it into a job as concert photographer. :)

    Also, I understand the part about being a comic book nerd too well. When I was a kid, I used to love them but it got to a point where I was spending way, way too much money on them. It got to the point where I just stopped buying all of them since I know if I didn’t do so it would get out of control again. I still miss reading them but games are already a bit too expensive as a hobby.

    1. Thanks, man! Although I’m not in it for the money. I just want some press credentials to be able to bring my pro camera equipment to concerts and fests, and get some close shots of the bands. Hey, maybe, one day, I’d be able to make it to Lollapalooza Brazil!

      Yeah, comic book collecting is such an addiction. I wanted to stop years ago. But, I just can’t bear the thought of not knowing what’ll happen in the next issue.

  2. I hope you get to photograph those gigs – good luck! Dimzad plays guitar so we have an old Marshall amp sitting around in our study, its a gorgeous big clunky thing and he has a couple of guitars, his favourite being his Explorer. He doesn’t get to play as often he’d like now…

    1. I’m just so happy that you know stuff like Monster Magnet, Fugazi, Marshall amps and Explorer! I used to save money to buy an Explorer once. I don’t know where that money went.

  3. battlechicken · · Reply

    I have no problem admitting you’re cool. :D You actually remind me a lot of my husband: photographer, gamer, musician. That’s a good thing, because he’s way cool (obviously).

    I hope you do get to do concert photography; I imagine that would be so much fun. The energy at a concert is contagious, and if you catch that in an image, man, that’s priceless!

    Thank you for participating in the challenge, Skron! :D

    1. Your husband must be good looking too, then. Gamer/Photographer/Musicians FTW!

      I’m doing a bit of concert photography now. But, I’m not using my DSLR. They prohibit those in concerts and music fests. So, I’m trying to get some press credentials so I can bring those in.

      No problem. I like this challenge a lot. I found out that I have a lot in common with other gamer bloggers, like your cool husband.

  4. I have to say, you are pretty cool. Photography, comics and computer games? Awesome.

  5. Love the pics

  6. [...] The Frugal Gamer shows us life in pictures–not surprising, since he’s a photographer! Actually, a photographer and music lover, which for reasons I won’t list here, is exceptionally neat in my book. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

