Pulling A Game Out of a Hat: An MMO Time Management.

Yesterday, Syp of BioBreak wrote about the “Four Methods of Juggling MMOs“. In that post, I also left a comment where I said I juggle MMOs by drawing them out of a hat. While it may seem I was just trolling on the blog, I’m actually not.

I’m a person blessed with plenty of hobbies and a decent amount of free time. But I’m also a very indecisive person. During my days off, I usually find myself arguing with myself on how to spend the day. This phase will go on for 2-3 hours before I could actually decide on what to do. So, a couple of months ago, I had an idea to raffle my activities. The thing worked, and has saved me a few hours normally hampered by my indecision.

Pulling a game out of a hat. A Cubs hat.

Now, with a couple of games installed on my PC (GW, LotRO, DDO, D3 and ME3), I also use the “raffle” method on choosing/juggling my games. What I did was write down different games on 16 tiny scraps of paper. To increase the chances of drawing them, I made duplicates of the more important games. For example:

  • 5 MMO: DDO
  • 5 MMO: LotRO
  • 3 MMO: GW
  • 1 Game: ME3
  • 1 Game: D3
  • 1 Game: Installed Backlog

Each paper is also equivalent to 3 hours. Depending on the free time I have, I’ll draw an X amount of paper. If I have 9 hours of free time that day, I’ll pull out 3 papers out of the hat. So, if I pulled 2 MMO: DDO and 1 MMO: GW, I’ll play DDO for 6 hours that day and 3 hours of Guild Wars.

I know this is a crazy way to juggle MMOs, or activities. But, so far, it has worked out great for me. Maybe it’ll work for you too.

6 comments

  1. That’s wild… I like it though!

    1. You should try this one, mmojuggler. It’s a fun way of juggling MMOs.

  2. Oh, I’ve just read Syp’s post and found your pingback on it! I find yours a very interesting approach as well :) Perhaps this could be something for me for picking new games and activities (there’s so much out there I like!). But first I’m gonna give the combination of Syp’s #1 and #4 a go. That might just do it for me.

    1. I use a lot of Syp’s #4 method too. Especially when the game is new or if I’m very excited to play it. I just use the raffle method when I wake up and I don’t know what I should play, which happens often.

  3. This… is madness!

    It’s also a stroke of genius. Except when I have to cover something for work. :)

    1. I don’t use this method all the time. Just most of the time. I’m pretty sure when Guild Wars 2 rolls out, I won’t be using this for sometime.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

